HIGH-ALPINE MOUNTAIN RUN

A battle for every metre

It is one of the toughest mountain runs of the world. Over a course 12 kilometres long, a 2000-metre altitude gain is to be overcome. Some passages literally force the athletes to their knees and can be overcome only on all fours. On the main square in Lienz, at 674 m above sea level, the struggle for every metre starts as the athletes set their sights on Kuhbodentörl, at 2441 metres altitude – a breathtaking place to finish, which the athletes reach in 1.5-2.5 hours.

kilimanjaro

2018 Route

  • Lienz, Main Square ( 46°49’45.88″N / 12°46’9.27″E )
- Main Square (674m altitude)
- Andrä-Kranz-Gasse, Zwergergasse, Amlacherstrasse, Draubrücke
- Rechter Drauweg

  • Amlach ( 46°48’49.43″N / 12°45’36.92″E )
- Amlach church (through Amlach) to Waldschenke Guesthouse

  • Goggsteig ( 46°48’25.86″N / 12°45’29.75″E )
- steep, rocky climb up to the summit of Gogghütte (360m climb in altitude over a 900m path)
- Gogghütte (first drinks station, 1053m altitude);
- around 1km through the forest track until the junction with ‘Franz Lerch Weg’ (take a right)
- Franz-Lerch-Weg (around 600m)

  • Klammbrückl ( 46°47’25” N / 12°45’57” E )
- Klammbrückl (second drinks station, 1096m altitude)
- Sharp left into the Kerschbaumer Alm Weg (3m-wide gravel path)
- Around 2km to Hallebach

  • Enter Hallebachtal ( 46°46’48” N / 12°46’12” E )
- Hallebach (third drinks station, 1374m altitude)
- Take a sharp right 30m outside of Hallebach up a very steep track – Go through pine fields and land like virgin forest until reaching the tree line – Tree line (fourth drinks station, 2000m altitude)
- Past the summit (Mitterkogel) to the left (fifth drinks station)

  • Kühbodentörl ( 46°45’43” N / 12°44’23” E ) – FINISH (2441m altitude) – sixth drinks station

Info

  • Substitute course: 
Should weather conditions not allow for a run in the Lienz Dolomites (due to strong wind or snowfall etc.) the mountain running will instead take place on the nearby mountain of Hochstein. The race leadership will make this decision as necessary. The exact course description will be announced in due time, in this case (with a briefing).

  • Clothing: The finish of the mountain run is situated in high alpine territory. It is absolutely essential that athletes ensure they wear appropriate footwear and enough warm clothing for the race, as well as pack warm items in their clothes bags for the way back down. Clothes bags will be flown by the organisers in a helicopter up to the finish at the top of Kühbodentörl.

  • WATCH OUT: Participants will have to walk downhill for approximately 1 hour 30 minutes from Kühbodentörl to the shuttle bus stop. Please think of that when choosing clothing! Clothes bags must be handed in at the starting area by 7.15 on the morning of race day at the very latest. Start: all mountain runners need to be at the start point in the main square in Lienz between 09:40 and 09:50 in the morning on Saturday 8th September 2018! Anyone not there will face disqualification! Signs: Yellow road markings. Yellow signs in the forest, red-white-red warning signs, and yellow ‘Dolomitenmann’ signposts. No climbing equipment allowed!! It is obligatory to pass through the checkpoints on the course. Important note: Anyone failing to reach the entrance of ‘Hallebachtal’ by 11:15 will be ruled out of the competition! Winning time: Approximately 1 hour 25 minutes. Training is done at every participant’s own risk. The course is open for inspection only.

Picture Gallery

Videos

Ergebnisse / Results 2018

Unter dem nachfolgenden Link findest du alle Ergebnisse vom 31. Red Bull Dolomitenmann.

Use the link below to get all the results of the 31st Red Bull Dolomitenmann.

PENTEK TIMING – Results Red Bull Dolomitenmann

BERGLAUF BERGLAUF BERGLAUF BERGLAUF BERGLAUF BERGLAUF BERGLAUF BERGLAUF BERGLAUF BERGLAUF BERGLAUF BERGLAUF BERGLAUF BERGLAUF

Hochalpiner Berglauf
Der Kampf um jeden Meter

Er zählt zu den schwierigsten Bergläufen der Welt. Auf einer Strecke von 12 Kilometer sind 2000 Höhenmeter zu überwinden. Einige Passagen zwingen die Athleten wörtlich in die Knie und sind nur auf allen Vieren zu überwinden. Am Hauptplatz in Lienz auf 674m Seehöhe startet der Kampf um jeden Meter und das Ziel liegt auf dem Kuhbodentörl, 2441m über dem Meer – einem atemberaubenden Ziel, welches die Athleten in 1,5-2,5 Stunden erreichen.

Länge: 12 km | Höhenmeter: 2.000 m

Streckenlauf

Lienz

- Dolomitenstadion (674m Seehöhe)

Amlach

Goggsteig

- markanter, felsiger Anstieg bis zur Gogghütte (360 Höhenmeter auf 900m Strecke)
- Gogghütte (1053m Seehöhe)
- ca. 1km langer Waldweg bis zur Abzweigung „Franz-Lerch-Weg“
- Franz-Lerch-Weg (ca. 600m)

Klammbrückl

- Klammbrückl (1. Labestation, 1096m Seehöhe)
- scharf links in den Kerschbaumer-Alm-Weg (3m breiter Schotterweg)
- ca. 2km bis zum Hallebach

Einstieg Hallebachtal

- Hallebach (2. Labestation, 1374m Seehöhe)
- 20m vor Hallebach scharf rechts auf einen sehr steilen Steig
- durch Latschenkiefer und urwaldähnliches Gelände bis zur Waldgrenze
- Waldgrenze (3. Labestation, 2000m Seehöhe)
- links des Mitterkopfs vorbei (4. Labestation)

Kühbodentörl

- ZIEL (2441m Seehöhe) – 5. Labestation

Ersatzstrecke

Im Falle von Wetterbedingungen, die einen Lauf in die Lienzer Dolomiten nicht zulassen (starker Wind, Schneefall etc.) wird der Berglauf auf den Hochstein verlegt. Entscheidung durch die Rennleitung. Die genaue Streckenbeschreibung wird noch rechtzeitig bekannt gegeben (Briefing).

Kleidung

Das Ziel des Berglaufes befindet sich in hochalpinem Gelände. Es ist unbedingt darauf zu achten, dass die Athleten entsprechendes Schuhwerk bzw. mit ausreichend warmer Kleidung das Rennen bestreiten und sich in die Kleidersäcke warme Kleidungsstücke für den Rückweg packen. Die Kleidersäcke werden vom Veranstalter per Helikopter auf das Kühbodentörl geflogen.

Achtung

Die Teilnehmer müssen vom Kühbodentörl bis zur Haltestelle des Shuttle-Busses ca. 1 Stunde 30 Minuten bergab gehen. Bitte dies bei der Wahl der Kleidung berücksichtigen! Die Kleidersäcke müssen am Renntag bis spätestens 7:15 Uhr im Startgelände abgegeben werden. Startkontrolle: alle Bergläufer haben sich am Samstag, 12. September 2020 um 09:40 bis 09:50 Uhr zur Startkontrolle am im Dolomitenstadion Lienz einzufinden! Nichterscheinen bedeutet Disqualifikation! Markierung: Bodenmarkierung gelb. Gelbe Schilder im Wald, rot-weiss-rote Trassierbänder, ansonsten gelbe „Dolomitenmann“-Wegweiser. Keine Steighilfen erlaubt!! Kontrollposten an der Strecke sind obligatorisch zu passieren. Wichtiger Hinweis: Wer es bis 11:15 nicht zum Einstieg „Hallebachtal“ schafft wird aus dem Bewerb genommen! Siegerzeit: ca. 1 Stunde 25 Minuten Das Training erfolgt ausschließlich auf Risiko jedes Teilnehmers. Die Strecke ist nur zur Besichtigung freigegeben.

Bewerbsleiter

Alfred Unterasinger
Stv. Siegfried Girstmair
HSV Lienz / Sektion Alpin

Streckenplan

2020

Reglement

2020

Racebook

2020

Ersatzstrecke GPS Track

2020

Image – Videospots

Berglauf

Streckenvorstellung

Berglauf

Sportwissenschaft

Berglauf

Ausstattung

Bildergalerie